top of page
  • mollylsayer5

Week Sixteen: 03/02/22

Research: Francis Bacon Francis Bacon is a ridiculous talented painter who focuses a lot on 'Triptych' works. My Research on Francis Bacon is mainly going to be delegated to his work ''Three studies for figures at the base of Crucifixion.''

''The title of this work refers to figures that are often featured in Christian paintings of the death of Jesus. Bacon said the figures in his work represented the Furies, ancient Greek goddesses. They punished human wrongdoing. The work was first shown publicly in April 1945. The Second World War was in its final months, after six years of conflict. The first photographs and film footage of Nazi concentration camps were being released. For some, Bacon’s painting reflected the horror of the Holocaust, in which six million Jewish people were murdered. It was also seen to reflect the fear caused by the development of nuclear weapons.''


I never really liked this artwork. I thought the Triptych was a good composure however the paintings it self originally over stepped a disfiguring horror thought. With my work this is not the type of approach I want. I want it to be a slight disturbance to my work rather than a Darkened approach of the un-ordinary. However the vitality of this research is important as it shows the really extreme version of the type / concept of appearance with my art that I want to do. It creates a disruptive dysmorphic kind of appearance that gets the mind stimulated into asking questions about it, or the initial 'What the heck is that!' If you compare this painting to my research on Lewis Carrolls illustrations within 'Alice in Wonderland' You go from fun, slight uncertainty surreal creatives to Bacons Dysmorphic, Dark and in a way emotionally conflicting piece that is probably not the same age appropriation due to its potential scare factor. We are contextually looking at two different audience types from Children's books to Crucifixion.


DYSMORPHIC: The deformity or abnormality in the shape or size of a specified part of the body. Although this may be identified as a mental health issue, just the topic of looking at a fixation of a shape or size of a feature on the body is a really interesting thought and to get that from these paintings too, it fits well as there is a abnormality in the shapes of this discomforting figure, the way its mouth and ears are displayed it is a deformity in the way we look and perceive this painting. This is what I want to base my next element of my practical experiment.


Practical Experiment:

I now want to create a image, which starts looking into Dysmorphia. Creating a drawing which focuses on the words Deformity, abnormality, shapes and exaggerated sizes.

I think whilst this is the beginning of a suggested idea, to continue the approach from the previous practical Experiment and develop it forward with using this idea.


As said I don't want to indulge into a Dark presentation of work, something that is tame but different is what I want to push for as I am only just starting on this topic. I will continue to do this as a digital painting medium to see how it plans out.






7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Evaluation & Reflection of my Work:

My Overall Evaluation for the progression of my work. I think if I had actually gave my self a bit more credibility and time this last year of my course then this topic and where I have left it at had

Communicate my Overall Progression:

In this section, I just want to reflect on my journey with this course and where I want to progress forward in my self for the future. I can not fault the course one bit. The lessons have been so inte

bottom of page