top of page
  • mollylsayer5

Exhibition Display:


Doing an exhibition, I would want to create these 3 pieces as a large scale and label it my problematic taboo. The first image is definitely my favourite and would want to print it at a very large scale piece. The other 2 I would want at a ever so slightly smaller scale next to the piece or even the middle one at large scale too. Just because where I think the child is being breast fed in the first image, it has that alert and impact more than the others.

If there was room, I would want to print off my line drawings on vinyl an place them on glass but only as small sample pieces around these images. Ideally I would want to do a sample from each taboo area I have looked at even though a lot of it surrounds the health care and nudity, It is a self journey to find an create that discomfort that I said in my Study proposal. I want to empathise with my work and I thought if I could feel discomfort in creating the piece because of what it is exposing then I have found my taboo and I am not completely de-sensitised.

Modern Taboos and Moral Regulations: Mother’s Milk in the Symbolic Order - Therese Andrews, 2022 (sagepub.com) In this article, it is really Fascinating in terms of the types of taboo in breast feeing and I've really been looking into it. It explores the many taboos, fears and worry when actually being a mother breast feeding a child rather than it be a subject of a conversation. There are the taboos of breast feeding too long, breast feeding in public, Giving up breast feeding too early. The article was comparting the taboo traditions from 1966 from hygiene and primitive religions and the impact it has had. I would want a plaque near my work exploring some of the taboos that this site goes into but also to really express the taboo challenges that I have encountered and had to face.


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Evaluation & Reflection of my Work:

My Overall Evaluation for the progression of my work. I think if I had actually gave my self a bit more credibility and time this last year of my course then this topic and where I have left it at had

Communicate my Overall Progression:

In this section, I just want to reflect on my journey with this course and where I want to progress forward in my self for the future. I can not fault the course one bit. The lessons have been so inte

bottom of page