top of page
  • mollylsayer5

Week Fifthteen: 27/01/22

Research: Tim Walker.

Tim Walker is very well known for his fashion photography. He has done photographs for upper branded fashion marketing but is very popular for his quirk and surrealistic app

roach he creates elegantly within his work. Tim Walker will always be a huge amazement to me and the reason for this is because I see his imagery the photographs / style that I want to draw. Coming from a photography Degree, the commitment and preparation a shoot like the ones sampled is outstanding. They are beautifully formulated but also have an EARY effect to them. By this he has used props, fashion and created a environment / location that in a very slight way has created a Juxtaposition effect of using things that in theory wouldn't go together. ''When you make a photograph not only it relates to the physical presence of that object it also relates that emotional reaction to it'' The picture below he has created a outside

scene but inside, high class stoned statue

with exaggerated garments. Tim Walker has experienced different formats of camera, from digital to medium format cameras and has explored different contextual elements of his work. Walkers burst of imagination is something that I want to progress as within my art and really try and get my mind on paper as a saying. Tim Walkers exhibition was also accompanied with installation works. During his shoots, like the photo shown at the very top, the installation and shoot set up was actually at the exhibition, it almost felt as though you where walking into another world or Walkers mindset of wonderful things. That element of a overwhelming wonder of 'What is going on in this persons mind to create this' is that exact trigger you want to create for an audience. The Mind over matter. For me I am all about wonder for what is going on with someone's mental health and their experience impacting them as a person.




Practical Experiment Plan:

From this research, I want to create a drawing that will Create a Juxtaposition composition, using props that you would not necessarily match together. I want to do a experiment that focuses on the quote ''Inanimate objects have a personality''. Drawing props to create a personality.


I want this to be a practice to explore my drawings using

this as a motivated starting point. To use this quote as a means to help me develop my medium and a method of surrealism like what Tim Walker has done within his work.


I already feel as though this practical experiment will be challenging as although I know I want to indulge into finding a new series based on visual discomfort, the thought of spontaneous drawings bring a lot of discomfort to mind as it is because its that sense of feeling exposed when being put on the spot with an idea.







9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Evaluation & Reflection of my Work:

My Overall Evaluation for the progression of my work. I think if I had actually gave my self a bit more credibility and time this last year of my course then this topic and where I have left it at had

Communicate my Overall Progression:

In this section, I just want to reflect on my journey with this course and where I want to progress forward in my self for the future. I can not fault the course one bit. The lessons have been so inte

bottom of page