top of page
  • mollylsayer5

Greif, Another Taboo Area - Experiment Three.



Grief. Grief is the feeling of loss. Losing a love one, death, departure. Death can be a very sensitive topic to discuss, it exposes every element of vulnerability which is why some are very expressive to this and some find it a very hard topic to talk about.

Working in the healthcare sector, death and grief is surrounded everywhere, families fearing the worse of their loved one, some come to nursing homes and hospitals and pass away there and we are there to support both the family and individual have the most support, dignified and care around them through this, and even to us workers its a loss for us as we form that bond with patients and family. I wanted to create an experiment where it shows two vulnerable in a position where they look close and bonded together but also as though they are departing and saying good-bye. I tried to create a lined effect layer like I did with my previous drawing but I feel like on its own it isn't as effective as if it was layered in multiple ways. The effect I wanted was to create a mosaic departure that showed Greif as the taboo feel it may give, rather than the innocence of life feeling.

Over the past 50 years, we have made consider able strides in our knowledge of death and dying, end-of-life and palliative care, and grief and loss. However, there is still a large amount of stigma attached to these taboo subjects. These issues are deeply imbedded in religious, cultural, and societal beliefs and values

When researching Death as a taboo subject, it was very differently accepted and seen in different countries. Día de los Muertos, or Day of the Dead, is arguably the most famous celebration of death in the world in Mexico as an example. A Day of colourful presentation. Some have street parties and some mourn. So although it is a very taboo subject still, I think it is interesting to see that different cultures, religion and areas have their way to cope with the loss.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Evaluation & Reflection of my Work:

My Overall Evaluation for the progression of my work. I think if I had actually gave my self a bit more credibility and time this last year of my course then this topic and where I have left it at had

Communicate my Overall Progression:

In this section, I just want to reflect on my journey with this course and where I want to progress forward in my self for the future. I can not fault the course one bit. The lessons have been so inte

bottom of page