top of page
  • mollylsayer5

Lesson Nine Reflection: 25/11/21

Updated: Jan 1, 2022

In this lesson, we was given a introduction on how to use the facilities at the university library but also a way to use library facilities online as well. Which was incredibly helpful in case another Lockdown happens from the COVID-19 Pandemic.

After reflecting on this lesson and re watching the video, I felt it was a good opportunity to do some research that may help a supported idea of mine.


PAST EXPERIENCE IN MENTAL HEALTH ART PROJECTS:

Referring back to my 'Lesson Six' Reflection where I done a mind-map on suggestive ideas, there was a repetition of emotions and connection relating to mental health spoken about which is something I want to research next. However mental health it self is such a large topic to research, with the progression society is moving in as well, mental health is becoming a much larger discussion but also developing in perhaps a much harsher platform. Yes it is more accepted and known about than decades ago but again, the way that internet is used with social medias it becomes more detrimental to peoples mindsets.

Previously, I have focused a lot of my art work on different elements of mental health as I was inspired by my fathers creativity but my mothers work into being a therapist. I done a 2 Year art project based on 'Multiple Personality Disorder' (MPD/BPD) and a 1 Year art project on the mental health effects from the 'Black Plague' looking into Depression and both where exceptionally intense topics to look into and fascinating to indulge into the research. I even done a collaboration of work looking at how the menopause effects Womens mental health too and the impact it can have on someone mentally as well as psychically.

This time I would like to take this opportunity to research another mental health topic but perhaps not the two areas I have previously done studies for already. Not only that, #reflecting back on when I done these art projects, was on a Photography course, only at the time discovering my mixture of artistic genres. Being a little bit more established in art it self, now could be a chance to collaborate Mental Health with my enjoyment of doing Surrealist Graphic Design work, so in other words more tailored to my latest genre.




Perhaps a topic that I could focus on is image protectory. Looking at different formats of how people present themselves through body imagery and looking into something like body dysmorphia. Now I personally don't have Body Dysmorphia but I couldn't begin to imagine how difficult this mental health condition must be on someone, which is perhaps something I would be interested to look into and developing this concept into my work through fashion illustrations and digital designs. The illusions of what goes through the minds of appearances.

body dysmorphia - Google Search - ''Body dysmorphic disorder, or body dysmorphia, is a mental health condition where you spend a lot of time worrying about your appearance.''


I personally fixate on the way I look and have a huge interest on fashion development / styling and feel that If I do not dress a very specific way then I really believe that people aren't seeing me for who I really am. Even if I forget something as small as a detail like a hair clip or perhaps a ring to go with my look, I would feel extremely self aware and in frustration that My presentation is incomplete. If I was to strip it back into what made me so aware of my appearance was perhaps during school from transitioning from Primary - Secondary and realising that within the area I lived in, appearance and especially makeup was heavily judged upon. Although I continuously tried to be my self, it was difficult watching people judge one another and not wonder if people was doing the same to you behind your back. Like anyone at this age, my sense of style changed as I was exploring my personality and l Currently have so many clothes that are bold colour choices with a variety of patterns. Heavily inspired by showing my ''Wonderland'' head visually is my aim.







10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page