top of page
  • mollylsayer5

Experiment - Oil Pastel and Extruding: 10/12/21

Updated: Jan 1, 2022



One of my Most recent personal works was a New method of digital oil pastel on illustrator and extruding segments of the background to create the swirls. However, what I would do is write a sentence on the background, repeat it within many duplicated layers. Extrued certain layers to create a 3D multilayer within the layers, merge the overall drawing and applicate another oil pastel layer. This is one of my favourite pieces of work because it gave me 'Alice In Wonderland' surrealist Vibes, but conceptually was drawn at one of my most challenging moments where I felt confinded and trapped within a personal situation, A pink teapot it self was gifted to me within the situation and it felt like a present of endearment to buy my sweetness with the corruption of mind and limited movement. Not only that, using the clothing of GUCCI is something so inrspirering as the way their models are dressed replicates some of my fashion indulgences. For me, drawing my personal encounters has never came across sentimental or valuable. So this one felt like a big accomplishment. Also it was a new technique using oil painting and extruding layers technique so this was something I wanted to practice a bit more doing.


  • Above, I have focused on little elements of a fairy land aspect to help with my very wild imagination, elements that help me escape into this world when drawing. I have also made the mouse a feature of the work rather than the key focus as I want to develop from the mouse rather than still BE the mouse.

  • Each Imagery has something that has been a part of my speech about my mentality at the current timing except for the 3rd Image. That one felt too unproportionate to my liking so I re done it to a much better fit as a retrial for the 2nd Image. The Jenga was a previous statement into how I described my mentality.

  • The Chess board One is a symbolism of me gaining my ambition to be my self again and challenging my individuality.

  • I really like doing these types of images however if it is a rushed / overly thought out idea then to me it becomes visually disproportionate and unsatisfyingly unorganised for me so I would rather know to do this type of work when a Concept comes to mind and fits nicely to a symbolic feature.


Whilst creating this work, all artist can experience 'Technical Difficulties'. Which is when something can go wrong during the process of a work which is either fixable or even frustrating when you have to start over. Whilst creating my work, I found I leant on my keyboard when doing something and my work ended up a 'Layering mess'. Some how a segment of my image had duplicated several amounts of time scattering all across my screen. And as much as this was a 'Technical Error' I actually really liked it. I absolutely adore a clutter / pattern clash within styling my fashion so this was visually pleasing for me. Perhaps at one point I could progress off from this error but it was a much needed mention!





11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page