top of page
  • mollylsayer5

Lesson Four Reflection: 21/10/21

Lesson 4 or should I really say week 4 for University. I can slowly see even by each reflection that the thought process of what we discuss in our class is becoming more in-depth and getting us to challenge ourselves on how we initially do our own work guided by the topic discussion of 'Practise Based Research.'

The start of the lesson was briefly introduced on how we will be going over our units and the set brief for how the coursework will be delivered / set over the 2 year duration of this course. This will be more discussed in week 5's lesson but he wanted to give us a brief heads up introduction for it. It is promisingly us choosing one projected of our choosing to create over the two years split into units to mark. I have been on a UAL course before so to me this was quite interesting as I am given so much time on one project. However rather overwhelming. I haven't spent such a long time on a project before. When doing previous projects for my degree and College work before, It really shows when I enjoy my projects and then when I lose interest in a project and I know I really need to think carefully on what type of structure my personal work frame is. Perhaps doing my 2 year project on something connecting my personal work together conceptually will allow me to keep the proposal open and experimental. I don't know if this is my dyslexia or the start of a project being overwhelming in my thoughts, but to me this paragraph is a big mouth splurge of initial thoughts of the beginning of the brief! Coming to the lessons main topic of discussion was 'Practice Based Research!' We was all asked to go on Miro which we used in the beginning lessons to do our presentations and answer the following questions related to practice based research within our own work... 1) What is it in my own practice? 2) Practice Based Research... 3) How do I feel about this? It was quite interesting to vocalise our own opinion on practice based research along side our work but to also see it alongside other accompanying artists was satisfyingly reassuring! Everyone on the course is at complete different stages in their life whether that is artistically or career based. Besides this we all had some level of similarities on how we relate to practice based research. From this we specifically looked on the barriers on when we formulate practice based research in our projects. A lot of factors included; Time parameters, emotionally overwhelmed, stressed, empowered and motivated are some of the key words I selectively picked out.


Indulging in Personal Self Reflection: I believe this lesson was quite a eye opener for me when talking about barriers with practice based research and maybe just in my self too. I spoke about how easy it is for me to feel confused with the thought process in developing my work and reflecting on it too. To me, it gives me a sense of feeling that I haven't been as organised with my work and start to try and organise my thoughts and break down the conceptual structure of my practical so much that it then has an opposite effect, it then becomes more disorganised. Discussing this with my peers was quite good to get that vocally out loud, but finishing that lesson actually really made me evaluate this. A lot of my self confusion I believe narrows down to confidence, and not wanting to show vulnerability. When I create artwork, I became so certified that it had to have a strong conceptual understanding to it, to have that feeling of empowerment added to it. I couldn't just do art in a free-minded matter, I gave my self un-needed pressure when really I should allow my self to enjoy creating art for fun which will help me find what I am technically good at, as well as letting a conceptual idea come to mind naturally rather than by force.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page