top of page
  • mollylsayer5

Experiment Five of Taboo - Breastfeeding.


So I was really invested in these 2 specific drawings. Especially the first one. I find child birth an the thought of breastfeeding a slight uncomfortable when as a women I shouldn't, I suppose that will change when I'm either in that situation or around it. However, I created my drawings in the style of traditional presentation and as though as though it has a religious feel to a modern twist. But incorporating a child actually breast feeding actually made me reciprocate that discomfort feeling. So rather it be a regular drawing, I genially had them thoughts and questions on if this is right incorporating a child breast feeding and that I felt as though I was being self critical about doing this and if it was actually OK to do this. Using flowers and a colour pallet that complimented each other was purposely done to enhance a natural scene as though nothing sensitive is going on, beauty with a quirk of questionable taste. I think something I would of like to have done is do a real close up of breast feeding or something at least relating more to the topic as a triptych of the work as though its a series of taboo.


This image although it has a traditional texture to it still, I wanted to create it as a comparison to show the problematic issue of breast feeding in public that goes against breast feeding. The sign behind the cows head is a sign that says public breast feeing is allow in this location, and it is actually shocking that some places have had to introduce this when it is a natural process.

Something that I really loved about creating this piece is that I am investe in the line techniques that I have previously use in my other artworks and I wanted to find a way to re incourperate it again. You can see a broken up lined drawing where the blue lines and circles are and it is meant to be breast feeding pumps blended in to create that bitty uncertainty of the image.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Evaluation & Reflection of my Work:

My Overall Evaluation for the progression of my work. I think if I had actually gave my self a bit more credibility and time this last year of my course then this topic and where I have left it at had

Communicate my Overall Progression:

In this section, I just want to reflect on my journey with this course and where I want to progress forward in my self for the future. I can not fault the course one bit. The lessons have been so inte

bottom of page